Search Help

All-in raise for less than the current raise in No Limit Hold'em

In No Limit Hold'em, an all-in raise for less than the current bet (or raise) does not count as a raise (or re-raise) and is action only. It can be called but does not re-open the action. Because the small all-in is not officially considered a raise, further action from a player would essentially mean they would be raising themselves.

This is referenced in Bob Ciaffone's Robert's Rules of Poker, commonly regarded as the definitive rules of Poker.

The following rule is stated in Section 14 - No Limit and Pot Limit, rule 3:

"All raises must be equal to or greater than the size of the previous bet or raise on that betting round, except for an all-in wager.

Example: Player A bets 100 and player B raises to 200. Player C wishing to raise must raise at least 100 more, making the total bet at least 300. A player who has already acted and is not facing a full-size wager may not subsequently raise an all-in bet that is less than the minimum bet or less than the full size of the last bet or raise. (The half-the-size rule for reopening the betting is for limit poker only.)"

Therefore, our server properly denies the opportunity to raise in such situations, when the amount of the all-in raise is not at least as large as the previous raise.

Feedback

Did this article answer your question?

Related Help Articles